Listen To A Few Tracks Off A Tribute To Fleetwood Mac, 'Just Tell Me That You Want Me'

Written by | July 9, 2012 0:06 am | No Comments


 As Helen wrote about yesterday, Fleetwood Mac's tribute album ‘Just Tell Me That You Want Me’, is due out soon but you can now stream a few tracks, ‘Landslide’ by Anthony, ‘Oh Well’ by Billy Gibbons &Co, ‘Rhiannon’ by Best Coast, ‘Think About Me’ by The New Pornographers, ‘Silver Springs’ by Lykki Li, ‘Gold Dust Woman’ by Karen Elson, and ‘Future Games’ by MGMT.


Best Coast’s cover is strong and confident but she sings the song like a happy tune, and I am not sure how Fleetwood Mac fans are gonna take the way she upbeats her ‘Rhiaaaaaannon’ chorus. I had never heard the song that Lykki Li chose to cover but she seems to really have made the song hers with lots of drums and reverb behind her powerful vocals. And ex-Mrs. Jack White Karen Elson is taking Stevie Nicks’ place and she is doing quite well, really embodying Nicks’ haunting vocals whereas Beck is producing the cover – he must have got the idea when he was recording his single at Jack White’s studio – adding more guitar solo and reverb at the end of the song, but beside this, it is pretty close to the original.

‘Just Tell Me That You Want Me’ tracklist:

01. Lee Ranaldo Band feat. J Mascis – Albatross
02. Antony – Landslide
03. Trixie Whitley – Before The Beginning
04. Billy Gibbons & Co. – Oh Well
05. Best Coast – Rhiannon
06. The New Pornographers – Think About Me
07. Marianne Faithfull – Angel
08. Lykke Li – Silver Springs
09. Karen Elson – Gold Dust Woman
10. Matt Sweeney And Bonnie ‘Prince’ Billy – Storms
11. Washed Out – Straight Back
12. Tame Impala – That’s All For Everyone
13. Craig Wedren with St. Vincent – Sisters of the Moon
14. The Kills – Dreams
15. Gardens & Villa – Gypsy
16. The Crystal Ark – Tusk
17. MGMT – Future Games


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *