Listen To Moses Sumney’s ‘Quarrel’ From His Upcoming Album ‘Aromanticism’

Written by | August 10, 2017 19:05 pm | No Comments


Moses Sumney


It’s very probable that Moses Sumney is going to blow up to the music stratosphere after the release of his debut album ‘Aromanticism at the end of September. I have been praising his music and singing since I saw him, years ago, when he opened for Prince’s trio protégé KING at the Bootleg, and I have had the chance to see him a few times since. The last time was at The Westminster Chapel At Immanuel Presbyterian last October and this was a kaleidoscopic experience of meditative keys, melancholic loneliness bits he recorded in front of our eyes with a guitar looper, and soulful harmonies going to highs that most people have never thought could exist.

His voice is unique and amazingly high and pure, elastic and vulnerable at the same time, and listening to him is an ecstatic symphony of voices giving you to an ear-orgasm,… the new song he just posted this morning will probably convince you.

‘Quarrel’, a new cut from his upcoming album, is a long track, almost 7 minute-long, slowly plunging you into beauty and melancholia, with unexpected developments. It starts with a soothing reverie decorated by harp strings and Moses’ out-of-this-world vocals, then launches a booming and soaring orchestration bringing the song to a new level. The result is ethereal and dreamy, till the style metamorphoses into a more jazz-oriented piece mid-track, with wobbling Stevie Wonder keys and luminous layered arrangements. It’s not a simple song, it’s rather complex and creative, and some comparison with Radiohead may show up in reviews because of the first half of the song – I have actually seen Moses covering the UK band twice live. However, if you can hear the same type of inspiration in this slowly sprawling lush soundscape, his soulful voice is far more eerie and spectacular than Thom Yorke’s. You can hear all kind of directions in the song, as it mirrors what he does live, when he switches from a simple acoustic guitar to electronica: Moses messes up with genres and sonic fields but he does it with such elegance and smoothness you may never notice.

‘Aromanticism’ vinyl package will come with a 16-page booklet of handwritten lyrics and original photography. Pre-order up now for September 22nd, and check Mooses Sumney tour dates here. Here in Los Angeles, he is playing at the Hollywood Bowl on September 24th (a Cosmic Journey headlined by Solange and Blood Orange), on October 21st at the El Rey and at the Fonda Theater on October 25th.

Here is the tracklist of ‘Aromanticism’:
01 Man On The Moon (Reprise)
02 Don’t Bother Calling
03 Plastic
04 Quarrel
05 Stoicism
06 Lonely World
07 Make Out In My Car
08 The Cocoon-Eyed Baby
09 Doomed
10 Indulge Me
11 Self-Help Tape


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *